First Post and First Poem (University Life)

Hello world,

I have decided to (finally) create a blog to share my poetry with whoever wishes to read it, to hopefully receive some useful criticism, and to motivate myself to keep writing regularly. Ideally, I’d like to be posting something of my own weekly, but at least every two weeks. I’m sure I’ll also be using this to share any poems, writing, lyrics, or ideas that I find worth sharing.

I’m Tom, I’m 20, and rarely since I learned to read have I not had a book on the go. I have recently been going through the classics, usually with more than one at a time as I get too excited over books. Reading classics saves having to read reviews before deciding to buy a book, or even not buying it, since most of them are free on the Kindle store (I don’t shoplift, though I’m sure books would be my priority over jewellery).

I have also been writing for almost as long as I can remember. Starting with emulating Eminem between the ages of 8 and 11, and then Linkin Park and Funeral For A Friend for a few years, until I started to find my own words and style. In spite of surrounding myself in words, I do struggle to express myself on the spot. I guess that’s why writing has been somewhat important to me, and probably why I’ve been writing more since the end of school and through university. It’s a release of what needs to be expressed, a chance to look at the inside of yourself after having written it out, and also the creation of something gives a sense of accomplishment and pride.

At the time of starting this (mid-April 2014) I am currently an intern at the Cheetah Conservation Fund, but will go back home to the UK for summer, and then up to Manchester to start the final year of my zoology degree in September.

The first poem I will share is something light-hearted and upbeat. I recently found (and edited) on my phone something I quickly jotted down one night, presumably after a bad day, during my second year of university, about university life, mainly about university living. It may not come across, but since talking about university to others, I am actually getting pretty excited to go back for my final year.  But anyway, here is my poem, which I have uncreatively dubbed “University Life”.

University Life

I found a thousand fools in freshers,
Now I’m stuck with three, 
Now I just need some time away, 
for me.

Oh, where has my time gone today?
I’ve barely done a thing!
I’ve fought this week to wake and read,
But when did it begin?
I’ve sat in front of old men and,
I’ve listened to them speak.
I’ve hated some I barely know,
For them I turn no cheek.

I choose to let them speak and then,
Regret the choice I make,
But this has got to be the better,
Choice of all mistakes,
‘cause otherwise I’d be employed,
And overjoyed and poor.
Now I’m in debt, without a sweat,
And I’ll keep paying for more.

But I won’t lift a single finger
Scrubbing at this home.
I bet that poor old Henry hoover,
Hasn’t felt more alone.
I’ve dust bunnies and dragons under,
My bed and all else,
And something lost within the kitchen,
Smells akin to hell.

Sinks sparkled once upon a time,
Why, only yesteryear.
Since then we’ve been competing and,
We’ve tallied up the beers.
It’s wondrous water drains away,
The way that drain is plugged.
I wonder I can find the bleach,
When everything’s been chugged.

I enter that bathroom and leave it,
Dirtier than I was,
And everything in this house is,
So truly fucked because,
Of our own lazy, mad landlady,
Mindless of the damp,
Ignoring every broken thing,
And hidden booby traps.

But she can’t sell the house with all,
The crockery on the floor;
You’re standing in leftover dinner
One step through the door.
I’m glad to leave this mess and not,
Go clean some other place;
It’s just a chance to see the extent,
Of our own disgrace.

I’ve lived these years to my content,
And tried all I could think,
Drank much more than I have before,
And one more til I’m sick.
I can’t remember half my nights;
The others I’d forget,
But not a single one would I,
Have dared call a regret.

 

Leave a Reply

