Take Me Back or Take Me Away

It’s funny how you think when you’re crazy about someone. My mind is a bit odd at the best of times, so throw a spot of romantic feeling into the mix and things can get a bit strange. This poem is about adoring someone to the point of getting lost within them.

It’s also funny how memory works. The poem is based on a conversation I had a while back, but I could only finish it when I came back to the place where I was during the conversation.

So here is a poem that I shall call “I’ll Steal Her For Starlight”.

I’ll Steal Her For Starlight

I see the sandy waterfall, that falls along her back,
I wonder if water could carve ev’ry crack,
To sculpt a scape so thoughtfully, to free up ev’ry stone,
With timeless precision does dew etch my home.
Where water weaves, the light evades, and shadows cast their roots,
And gravity’s absence draws me to such fruits.
Before a shade her contours shames, and hides her from my eyes,
I’ll steal her for starlight and take to the skies. 

We’ll fly inside each other’s eyes, until we tread the moon,
For rockets that cost not are naught more than tombs.
We’ve lungs enough to share ourselves, new craters to explore,
To inhale each other, and open all doors.
We are the poles of our own world, for opposites attract,
And are not the only, but most perfect match.
Our slightest differences, and our private puzzling parts,
Throw genders between us and conjoin our hearts.

We’ll count the years in greys we shed, and wrinkles in our skin,
As no other part of ourselves lets time in.
If beauty’s in the eye, and we are only what we eat,
Let’s chew up the miles lain along every street,
And taste our trips and savour every stone our toes can meet,
And run for our lives to keep living so sweet.
We’ll cover ground ’til all is found, and doubly fast alone,
Exploring together instead is our home,
Inside and out, meticulous, as if we lost our goal,
But all I desire is to scour your soul.
Look into you and out for you; the eyes you didn’t know,
Ensuring our past doesn’t know where we go.

Though beasts may hide where eyes fall short, not one may cause you hurt,
No monsters can eat you if I eat you first.
My feast begins upon your toes so that you cannot flee,
We’d share them so you can live your life in me,
Like in you I lived mine since first you stepped foot in my eye,
Though dread falls on me should this knot you untie,
So next your fingers will be served, but softer hands persist,
To still that sweet rope that embraces your wrists,
Just as your breasts and body keep my hands from other hips,
And likewise your smile can stay my own lips.
I cherish ev’ry inch of you, and ev’ry word there since,
So last come your lips, which I savour like mints.
And now you kiss my insides, and can taste my every dish,
Your words are inside me, so why not your lips?
The future and your body now reside inside of this.
If I mistook fate, I ask “what did I miss?”

Leave a Reply

